Last night, I sent an email to the author of another blog asking if they’d be willing to take a look at mine. I checked my email this morning and there was a reply, saying that they would be happy to… and asking if I could send him the URL. I didn’t include the URL in the original email? That probably was kind of important, huh? /facepalm

So, that brings us to the topic of this post: /facepalm. Facepalm is an implied emote, often used in LOTRO and other MMOs. Although it is not an ACTUAL emote (meaning, if you type /facepalm into your chat bar and hit enter, you character won’t do something nifty), if you use it people will pick up very quickly on what you’re trying to convey. Due to the nature of the way the lotro chat bar and command system works, you will have to type “./facepalm,” or something preceeding the “/”, in order for it to appear properly.

I’m sure most of us have some excellent facepalm stories. I work in customer service for a telecommunications company. I used to work in customer service for a large cell phone company. An elderly lady called in, bless her heart, nearly in tears because her phone was not working properly. When I asked her what was wrong with her phone, she replied, “It doesn’t ring. It just rattles!” The lady had her cell phone on vibrate. /facepalm

Another time, when I was out in the Moors, I was attempting to teach a greenie the basics of PvMP. I answered most of his questions, which took about an hour, before he finally asked, “Wait. You mean I have to kill real players, not NPCs? And they can kill me back?” I replied that PvP was the whole point of the Moors. He then informed me that he had always thought PvP was dumb. He then logged off, and never came back to the Moors. /facepalm

So… what are some of your facepalm stories? Leave a comment and share!

