Ssili 1Well, here I am. I grew weary of LOTRO after the Riders of Rohan expansion, and stopped playing for a long time. Recently I decided to purchase Helm’s Deep and give LOTRO another go. Carolinn is now at level cap, which took me maybe a week or so. She has decent gear, although it still needs work. My girlfriend has started playing recently again too, so I’ve been leveling my newest alt, Ssili (a Dwarf Champion), along with her. You can see Ssili in the picture here.

Now, when I logged in on Carolinn for the first time in months, I was definitely shocked. Half of my skills were missing! I started playing around with Trait Trees, and I think (for the most part), I’ve gotten the hang of the new Captain. I don’t really like the new system for my Captain, however, at least not overall. The reason that Captain has been my favorite class for as long as I can remember is that in the midst of a battle, I could jump between different roles. I could focus on DPS, and then suddenly if the healer went down I could switch on the fly to healing mode. Or if I was power-healing, and the tank went down, I could switch roles and jump in as a temporary tank until the healer got our group’s tank back up. That versatility is now lost. With that said, the Captain is now much improved in each individual role. Yellow-line Captains can now actually function as a primary tank for group content. Blue-line Captains are very good healers. Red-line Captains can do very good damage and substantially boost the DPS of the entire party.

I’ve been running Carolinn as a Blue-line Captain for almost everything. Solo? Blue-line, I can out-last anything. Group? Blue-line, my fellowship will never run out of power or morale. For Helm’s Deep Epic Battles, I run Yellow-line; the force-taunt dynamic is extremely useful for keeping mobs away from objectives until your NPC soldiers can kill them.

That brings me to my next topic: Epic Battles. I love them. I love the idea of having a whole new set of skills with the Promotions system. I have 2 Promotion trees, both ranked up to Rank 3. One is a pure Engineer, and the other is a pure Officer. Engineer is extremely fun to play; the equipment, hazards, and traps add an excellent new dynamic for my Captain to take advantage of. I really hope there will be a lot more Epic Battles coming. On my side, you will soon see an Epic Battle Basics post from me.

Overall, I enjoyed the new Helm’s Deep content, although I thought it was a bit short considering the large price tag. I wouldn’t recommend buying it unless it was on sale.

